Becky Beasley: What I’m Reading Now

 

I am reading … about color. So:

Albers’ Interaction of Color

Wittgenstein’s Remarks on Color

William H. Gass’s On Being Blue: A Philosophical Inquiry

All these are related, in my fashion, to my current research around Italian designer and architect Carlo Mollino’s book about photography, Message from the Darkroom. Originally published in Italy in 1949, it is as much a history of photography as it is a statement of Mollino’s personal attitude to the possibilities of the medium.

I just finished reading Barry Gifford’s Wyoming , and am about to finish Isherwood’s A Single Man.

I want to find time to finish Charles Olson’s Call Me Ishmael, a poet’s literary study of Melville and Moby Dick, which I discovered in Skoob Books in London in a lovely tiny old paperback edition.

.

Becky Beasley

 

 

One Comment

  1. Posted April 12, 2011 at 12:58 pm | Permalink


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

